Please join the Waris Dirie Foundation Community / Bitte beteilige dich an der Waris Dirie Foundation Community

24 Jun

My dear friends,

As some of you may have already noticed, I have set up my own Online Community to find people who are willing to support me and my foundation. I receive so many emails from people offering their help and support, and I am very happy to have you all on board in my fight for women’s rights and against FGM!

Now, in the early phase of building up this community, I am looking for people who are interested in organising their own local communities in their towns, cities and countries. All administrators of these groups will be in regular contact with me as we organise events and activities together.

If you want to start your own local group and become an administrator, please sign up here and I will contact you!

LOVE,

Waris

Meine lieben Freunde,

Wie einigen von euch schon bemerkt haben, habe ich eine neue Online Community gegründet, in der Menschen die mich in meinem Kampf untersützen wollen, Ideen austauschen, Veranstaltungen organisieren, kampagnen planen und durchführen und vieles mehr können. Ich erhalte unzählige Emails von Menschen die mir ihre Hilfe und unterstützung anbieten, und ich bin sehr glücklich darüber, dass ihr alle mich in meinem Kampf für Frauenrechte und gegen FGM unterstützen wollt.

In der ersten Entwicklungsphase der Community suche ich nach Menschen, die Interesse haben ihre eigenen lokalen Gruppen zu gründen und zu betreuen. Alle Gründer / Betreuer werden in engem Kontakt zu mir stehen, und wir werden gemeinsam Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten organisieren.

Wenn du eine Gruppe in deiner Stadt gründen und betreuen möchtest, dann trage dich bitte hier ein und ich werde dich kontaktieren.

LOVE,

Waris

One Response to “Please join the Waris Dirie Foundation Community / Bitte beteilige dich an der Waris Dirie Foundation Community”

  1. Marina Markusova June 25, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Dear Waris,
    I hope you will get this e-mail.
    I´ve seen the movie Desert Flower in Brussels and there was also Liya Kebede present. I would like to tell you that I was deeply touched by your story and I really admire you for what you do. I am a Journalist and Writer and currently I am preparing a book about child abuse. It is a bit similar to the theme of genital mutiliation, because I think there is always the same “motivation” behind it: to control and manipulate the others. I would be glad to do an interview with you: i live in BElgium but I come from Slovakia and I work for Slovak edition of OK magazine and other newspapers.

    Last but not least I would like to say that you are one of the most beautiful women I´ve ever seen in my life, and I am very happy that through you, the world could become familiar with extraordinary beauty of Somalian women. Personally I think that this beauty is not purely physical, but it comes from inside, and it shows us a bit different image of African women. Women that might be oppressed, but they will never be broken, they are strong and full of inner grace.
    I wish you a lot of courage and please keep on doing what you do, because it is very important and valuable!

    Marina Markusova

Leave a Reply

