You ask, I answer / Ihr fragt, ich antworte

9 Jul

We did it before, and now it is time to do it again: You ask, I answer. Let’s go!

Nach der letzten “Fragestunde” wird es mal wieder Zeit für eine neue: ihr fragt, ich antworte. Los geht’s

27 Responses to “You ask, I answer / Ihr fragt, ich antworte”

  1. dror9999 July 9, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Hi Waris,

    I saw the movie ‘Desert flower’ just a few days ago and
    I wanted to ask you about your beloved brother,did you
    meet him again?
    I also want to ask,how can we influence the Beduin tribes
    in the Negev desert to stop FGM on their dauthers?
    They are living all by themselfs,and are not really
    obaying the rules of the country(Israel).

    Warm regards,
    Orly

    • warisdirie July 9, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      Dear Orly,

      thank you for posting the first question.

      Unfortunately, my beloved brother, whom we called “old man” died as a child.
      I still think of him a lot.

      Regarding your second question, it is of course very difficult to reach people in very remote areas. In Ethiopia, such communities were reached using radio roacasts with information on the dangers of FGM. We reported on it here.

      Generally, I believe the only way to bring a community to stop this cruel practice is education and the eradication of other circumstances that make them believe this practice is necessary, such as poverty.

      Love, Waris

  2. orly July 9, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Dear Waris,

    I was very sad to hear about your brother.
    My heart is with you.
    I know your souls will meet again one day…

    I will try to promote the things you said that can
    help a remote community to stop FGM.

    Will keep you posted.

    Love,Orly

  3. Camila Valério July 9, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Hello Warris…I´m feeling completey honored with the idea you would read my words. I´m a huge fan of yours, since i red the desert flower book, I don´t know, 6 years ago. Well…my question is, actually two:
    1) What is your favourite song?
    2) is there any chance for you gice me an interviwe for my blog?

    That´s it. Love you from all my heart!! Camila, São Paulo, Brasil.

    • warisdirie July 11, 2010 at 12:21 am #

      Dear Camila,

      thank you for your message.

      1.) I listen to a lot of music but do not have one favourite song. I like Sade, Amadou&Mariam, Tinariwen and many other African artists.

      2.) I looked at your blog, but it is all in Portuguese. Maybe you could send me some information on its content etc. to waris@utanet.at

      LOVE, Waris

  4. Linda July 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Hi Waris!

    I also saw your movie only recently and was very impressed by it. I was aware of FGM before seing the movie but have not reached deeply into it. Now I have researched some articles that treat different types of FGM and apparently type 3 is the worst. I have also heard about girls from the USA who have their inner labia shortened due to bad effects during intercorse which of course is a form of FGM (and probably the least invasive). So my question to you is what you think about types 1, 2, and 4 and all in between? Especially those that women would do volutaraly?

    • warisdirie July 12, 2010 at 9:24 am #

      Dear Linda,

      every form of FGM is cruel, unnecessary, and has no positive effects whatsoever for the woman. Which is why I cannot understand how any woman would do this to herself voluntarily.

      LOVE, Waris

  5. Alexandra K. July 9, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Dear Waris,

    much is said about the fight against FGM and helping victims of FGM. Medical personnel (doctors, nurses, psychologists) probably is not always well prepared to work with such a delicate topic. Would not it be a good idea to introduce the training learning how to talk with people who have survived trauma and are often also faced with the problem of cultural adaptation? Motivating Interviewing perhaps would be helpful. This is a very specific technique, based on a profound respect for others and faith in his strength. I will support any organization wishing to train with the ranges of MI serving their knowledge and experience. Don’t you think we should put more emphasis on the need for such trainings?

  6. Luana Barbara July 10, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Hi Waris,
    I read your book. It’s fantastic. I want to ask you… do you speak portuguese?
    : )

    • warisdirie July 12, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Dear Luana,

      no, I don’t, which is unfortunate because there seem to be a lot of people in Portugal and Brazil who support the fight against FGM.

      LOVE, Waris

  7. Angelika July 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Hallo Waris,
    ich habe Nomadentochter und Schmerzenskinder.. alle Deine Bücher gelesen. Ich bin total schockiert und habe geweint während dem Lesen.Möchtest Du noch weitere Filme machen? “Wüstenblume” ist so super!
    Es ist so traurig: viele meiner Bekannten/Freunde wollen mit mir über das Themab FGM einfach nicht reden. Es interressiert die Leute hier in Deutschland überhaupt nicht!! Ich weiß gar nicht wie ich an diese Menschen rankomme, man hört einfach nicht hin,und wechselt das Thema. Was kann ich machen?
    have a good time
    Angelika

    • warisdirie July 12, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      Liebe Angelika,

      diese Erfahrung muss ich leider immer wieder machen. Menschen ignorieren schwierige Themen oft lieber, als sich damit auseinander zu setzen. Deshalb ist es um so wichtiger, dass wir alle klar Stellung gegen FGM beziehen und das auch kommunizieren! Lass dich nicht entmutigen, es gibt sehr sehr viele Menschen überall auf der Welt die gemeinsam gegen FGM kämpfen!

      LOVE, Waris

  8. Leonie July 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    hi waris …
    the next time I have an interview with a woman from Togo, because she a female patient of my father, and he has made contact with her because I write a year working at the school about the rights of women in Africa, because I think The Germany on this subject in far too little is known. I would like to know if you can give me tips how to run the interview, because I have fear of saying something wrong that hurt the woman. I have the internet and can translate text in the hope that you understand what I mean.
    many thanks dear waris, and good luck and courage for your work!
    with dearest greetings from leonie

    • warisdirie July 12, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      Dear Leonie,

      just use your common sense and don’t ask anything you yourself yould nor like to be asked by a person you don’t know. The woman will only talk to you if she feels she can trust you.

      LOVE, Waris

  9. Trish July 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Hi Waris!

    I would like to ask you if your movie is going to be premieried in more countries!??

    I would really like to see it! If it wont be showned in my country, is it possible to buy it in english? I saw on your website, that you could buy the movie in either french or german i recall..

    Another question.. I have volunteered in a rural area in Africa. I was working with children. I got the chance to get to know a little bit the women in the area. After i came home, I’ve been wondering what I could do to support the women there! There’s no organizations there for them, like to work on women empowerment.. I saw you have been supporting women’s business! I was thinking also of that, but I dont know how to start and exactly what I could do!?

    So my question to you is, could you maybe give me some ideas of how is best to support women in rural areas where there’s so much as no organizations working there who I would then had contacted..

  10. Trish July 13, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Thank you for your answer! It gave me new ideas!

    I live in Iceland which is in Europe! I haven’t notice any advertise or any debat about the film here, well not yet! But I hope the film will be showned here! If not, then it will at least be on the market here in the stores!

  11. Ana Zerbini July 16, 2010 at 4:04 am #

    Hi Waris.
    Sorry about my english.
    I see the movie.
    I have a little girl, she’s 3 years old.
    I wanna know how can i help?
    I’m from Brazil and i’m an architect.
    If you need something that i can do, i really want to help. From here or there, in Somalia.
    Bye, Ana.

  12. Nika July 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    I am from Slovakia. I am 14 years and with grandmother, I was in the cinema on the film Desert Flower. Touched me to tears and I found that I wanted to help somehow. Have a couple of weeks looking for the way but finally I turn to you. For a woman with a big W. Your story, I literally dig in under the skin and encourage the fact that girls my age are worse off. Together with my friends, we are willing to walk around and dig Slovakia signatures on a petition against FMG. I am sending this message in German language too as you live in Vienna and even my English or Germany are not as good. If you would write off I would be very happy. I want to help and I hope that you, who first started to speak up and address this global problem, give me the inspiration and advice. Invent poems, I try to create but I want to help so that I could see the results. You are the woman who survived its only you and you can show us how we can help. In Slovakia with love and great dignity and respect Nikoleta Slezáková

    Ich bin aus der Slowakei. Ich bin 14 Jahre und bei der Großmutter, war ich im Kino den Film “Wüstenblume”. Rührte mich zu Tränen, und ich fand, dass ich irgendwie helfen wollte. Haben ein paar Wochen auf der Suche nach dem Weg, aber schließlich habe ich wende mich an Sie. Für eine Frau mit einem großen W. deine Geschichte, ich buchstäblich graben unter der Haut und fördert die Tatsache, dass Mädchen in meinem Alter schlechter gestellt sind. Zusammen mit meinen Freunden, wir sind bereit zu gehen um und graben Slowakei Unterschriften für eine Petition gegen die FMG. Ich schicke diese Botschaft auch in deutscher Sprache, wie Sie in Wien leben und auch mein Englisch oder Deutschland sind nicht so gut. Wenn Sie abzuschreiben, wäre ich sehr glücklich. Ich möchte helfen und ich hoffe, dass Sie, wer zuerst angefangen bis zu sprechen und die Anschrift dieses globale Problem, gib mir die Inspiration und Beratung. Invent Gedichte, versuche ich zu schaffen, aber ich möchte helfen, damit ich das Ergebnis zu sehen. Du bist die Frau, die ihre einzige überlebt und Sie können uns zeigen, wie wir helfen können. In der Slowakei mit viel Liebe und großer Würde und Respekt Nikoleta Slezáková

  13. Lena August 25, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Dear Waris,
    I really apprciate you and your work! My quastion is, if I send a letter written in german language to your e-mail, would it be translated to english automatically, or is it better to write in english to you? I need to send a business letter to you.
    Thanks from the heart!
    Lena

    • warisdirie August 26, 2010 at 9:49 am #

      Dear Lena,

      if it is easier for you to write in German, do that!

      LOVE,
      Waris

  14. Lena September 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Dear Waris,
    I wrork in a counsultancy office Wildwasser, against sexualized violence. I hope, you have received my letter, that I sent to your utanet e-mail accout? I read all of your books and I read your website. I know about your work and appreciate it. For this reason your oppinion ist important for our team and our work.
    I’ll be glad, if you can answer.
    Thank you so much!

    Lena

  15. Lena September 1, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    Thank yuo so much! I’ve received your e-mail answer now. I’ll write you about our regional project, how it went out and so on, as soon as we finish it. We want to offer our informations about FGM to many other offices for women consultation in our region in germany. Because too many people think, it’s an african problem, too far away from us! So many still don’t know, that it is our GREMAN problem too! We need to spread informations!

    God bless You, Your beloved and Your work!
    Lena

  16. Pere Moreno Garcia September 8, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I noticed that all comments on this blog are women, I’m a man and I think there should be more participation by men. This struggle can only succeed if we do it together men and women, men and women.
    A big hug to everyone

  17. Pere Moreno Garcia September 9, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Dear Waris,
    I would confirm it if you could download the 74 pages with 600 signatures in support of the Manifesto to Europe I hang Dropbox. This virtual box has a specified capacity and is already almost full. The clearing should be able to put more pages with signatures.
    Also I sent by registered mail with acknowledgment of receipt, the original sheets with 600 signatures. I still have not received confirmation of having received fulls.Us well you continue posting sheets scanned by the Dropbox?.
    I have many opportunities to collect more signatures.

    A big hug

  18. Sandra November 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Hola,
    Me llamo Sandra, ya había leído el libro “flor del desierto”, pero esta semana vi la película. Me impresiono y llego al alma ver las imagenes que leer la historia.
    Siento admiración por usted ante la valentía de escapar y volver a su lugar de origen. Yo hasta ahora siempre he escapado de los lugares en que se me ha tratado mal o me trae malos recuerdos, pero con su historia me ha hecho ver que hay que enfrentarse a ello y si esta dentro de nuestras posibilidades cambiar dichas situaciones.
    Reconozco que sufro cuando veo como las mujeres sufrimos en las distintas culturas, pero reconozco que no actuó.
    Y para que se produzcan los cambios hay que ACTUAR!!.
    Mucho ánimo con su lucha, voy a poner de mi parte para colaborar en la mejora de la situación de la mujer.
    Un saludo

  19. carriedickson March 12, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Waris, I have been looking all over to see if you have already answered this questions somewhere. I don’t see it, so I am asking you. Forgive me if you’ve already answered it. I hope you are still taking questions here.

    As a Jewish American woman, I wonder what is your feeling about male circumcision- for religious or non-religious reasons?

    I thank you for your work against FGM. I heard about it in the late 1990’s- no doubt because of you. I have worked as a nurse and midwife in women’s Health since the early 90’s, and we are all becoming more aware.

    Thank you for your work.

Leave a Reply

