International Peace Day: Waris Dirie calls for Peace in Somalia / Internationaler Tag des Friedens: Waris Dirie fordert Frieden für Somalia

21 Sep

Today is the UN’s international day of peace. I want to use this date to start a series about my home country Somalia, a country that the world knows far too little about.

As an Ambassador for Peace in Africa, I have two main goals. Peace for my home country Somalia and an end to the discrimination and outright war against women in Africa. This war consists of female genital mutilation, forced marriages, and a lack of respect for even the most basic human rights for women.

As a Somali woman my heart bleeds when I see how my country continues to destroy itself, when I see how this war is taking away our children’s future. There can be no winners in this war, only losers, and those who suffer from its consequences the most are Somalia’s women and children.

I appeal to all parties involved in the conflict in Somalia to end this meaningless war and to the international community to do everything they can to help bring peace to Somalia.

From today on, peace in Somalia will be part of my mission and will be put on the agenda of the Waris Dirie Foundation.

I will use this platform to tell as many people as possible about the situation in Somalia, about the current conflict but also about the backgrounds of this war, the situation of the Somali children and women.  Together, we will help improve the situation in Somalia by helping provide medical assistance and primary education.

Friends of the world, I need your help to save the lives of those who have nothing. Peace to Somalia, peace to the world.

Waris Dirie

Heute ist der “International Day of Peace” der UN. Ich möchte diesen Anlass nutzen um eine Serie über mein Heimatland Somalia zu beginnen.

Als Friedensbotschafterin der Afrikanischen Union habe ich zwei Hauptziele: Frieden für mein Heimatland Somalia und das Ende der Diskriminierung und des regelrechten Krieges gegen die Frauen Afrikas. Mit Krieg meine ich Verbrechen wie weibliche Genitalverstümmelung, Zwangsverheiratung und die Nichteinhaltung der grundlegendsten Menschenrechte.

Als somalische Frau blutet mir das Herz wenn ich sehe, wie mein Land sich selbst zerstört, wie dieser Krieg unseren Kindern ihre Zukunft raubt. In diesem Krieg kann es keine Gewinner geben, sondern nur Verlierer, und diejenigen, die am stärksten unter seinen Folgen leiden sind die Frauen und Kinder Somalias.

Ich appelliere an alle in diesen Konflikt involvierten Parteien, diesen sinnlosen Krieg zu beenden, und an die internationale Gemeinschaft, alles zu tun um Frieden nach Somalia zu bringen.

Vom heutigen Tag an wird Frieden in Somalia Teil meiner Mission sein und auf der Agenda der Waris Dirie Foundation stehen.

Ich möchte diese Plattform nutzen um so viele Menschen wie möglich über die Situation in Somalia aufzuklären, über die humanitäre Situation und den Krieg in Somalia, aber auch über die Entstehung dieses Konflikts und die Situation der somalischen Frauen und Kinder. Zusammen können wir den Menschen in Somalia helfen, durch medizinische Hilfe und Bildung.

Freunde der Welt, ich brauche eure Hilfe um die Leben von Menschen zu retten, die nichts haben und niemanden, der für Sie kämpft.

Frieden für Somalia, Frieden für die Welt!

Waris Dirie

One Response to “International Peace Day: Waris Dirie calls for Peace in Somalia / Internationaler Tag des Friedens: Waris Dirie fordert Frieden für Somalia”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 21 September 2010: International Peace Day / Internationaler Tag des Friedens « Black woman, white country -- Topsy.com - September 21, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Diana Ngila, Waris Dirie. Waris Dirie said: Please read my statement on today's international peace day! http://bit.ly/9cwqH5 […]

Leave a Reply

