200.000 girls in the US threatened by Female Genital Mutilation

19 Mar

The US-Organization “Sanctuary for Families” presented the first big study on FGM in the United States and a shocking number.

 

More than 200.000 girls are currently threatened by FGM. The number increased by 35% in the last years. Many of these girls live in the greater New York City metropolitan area. Female Genital Mutilation is practiced on US soil covert in illegal ceremonies, performed by traditional practitioners, or by health care providers.

President Obama has signed the “Transport for FGM act” which criminalizes the transportation of girls to undergo FGM.

Waris Dirie: “We know about cases in the US and we reported regularly on our website. But 200.000 girls currently threatened by FGM are shocking. I urgently call on the US-Government and the states to take serious actions to protect innocent girls from this brutal crime.”

2sanctuary for Families” offers, clinical, legal, shelter and economic empowerment services to 10.500 children and adults each year, you find the study and more information here: http://www.sanctuaryforfamilies.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=413&Itemid=303

One Response to “200.000 girls in the US threatened by Female Genital Mutilation”

  1. mundo4@web.de March 20, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Dear Mrs. Waris Dirie, almost 3 years ago you did promiss me helping to get my dauhgter home to me outside criminal foster-family here in Germany ! Do you remember in Berlin ther ALEX-comercial-center at Alexander-Platz your book-presentation at Phoenix, the book-saler there ? – Please, I do understand very much your situtatioin and so do I mine and the situation of my african-german daughter which was born in Africa, and now my family is destroid from very cruel and illegal social-care practice in Germany, no one knows. But in BBC from the last years you can see it. A very famous case is the one from the germyn mother, Heidi Schulz with her south-american-german son, which had to suffer too so much in injust social care, brutally treated there. With my daughter they are doing business and I do have no contact with here. Here was told her mother would be mentally ill. I can assure you that this is not the case! – With all my respect, you can understand me that I am no more willing to help in your case. I do not wanna be 'abused' in helping others, while I myself do need help with my family so badly !! With respect, Anja Gowole

    Gesendet: Dienstag, 19. März 2013 um 13:56 Uhr Von: "Desert Flower – The Blog" <comment-reply@wordpress.com> An: mundo4@web.de Betreff: [New post] 200.000 girls in the US threatened by Female Genital Mutilation

    warisdirie posted: "The US-Organization “Sanctuary for Families” presented the first big study on FGM in the United States and a shocking number.

     

    More than 200.000 girls are currently threatened by FGM. The number increased by 35% in the last years. Many of thes"

Leave a Reply

