Waris Dirie back from Africa

19 Apr

I have spent the last 10 days in East-Africa, to meet our godchildren Safa and Idriss in Djibouti. I have talked to their teachers and parents, to learn more about their education. Safa spent one whole week with me, I dropped her at school at 7 o´clock in the morning, I picked her up and with the permission of her parents she was allowed to spend some nights in my hotel room.

Waris drops Safa at school

 

Waris and Safa at school, April 2013

 

I am very proud of her and we became very close friends. On my journey I met important politicians, ambassadors, entrepreneurs and NGO´s. I visited schools, orphanages and refugee camps, people live there in terrible conditions.

In autumn 2013 I will start with my Desert Flower Foundation important projects for women and children and I will tell you more about that in the next days and will need YOUR support.

Safa 2008

Enjoy your weekend

LOVE,

Waris & Safa

Leave a Reply

