LETTER FROM SAFA

9 Aug

Dear friends,

I am back from a three weeks journey. First, I would like to express my gratitude to the Thomas-Dehler Foundation and the German Minister of Justice, Dr. Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger, for awarding me with the Thomas-Dehler Prize 2013. Safa, our little Desert Flower accompanied me and my family on our journey. Yesterday I received a beautiful letter from Safa. We translated the letter and you can read it here.

LOVE,

Waris

 

Dear friends, dear Waris,

I promised I will always send letters to you and this is my first one. My dad and I are back home in Djibouti now with mum, my brothers Amir and Nour, my grandma, my aunts, uncles and many cousins.

 

 

Safa and her father Idriss back in Djibouti

Can you imagine that it is hotter here than in Europe? Even early in the morning the temperature raises over 86°F.

We arrived at home just two days ago and everyone wants to know about Europe. I tell them about our big trip and our great adventures.

My dad behaved very funny when he got into the plane. He was so afraid that he didn’t even want to board. But I was not afraid at all. It was always my biggest dream to fly on a plane when I saw them cruising in the sky.

 

Safa: my biggest wish came true – I will fly to Paris

I had a great time in Europe with Waris and her kids. I wrote it all in the diary Waris gave me. Dad really loved Europe; everything is so green in Europe. We never imagined there is such a beautiful place. There are forests, meadows and plenty of water. Here at home everything is dry and nothing grows. Waris took us to Paris, Austria and Germany and we met many important persons with her.

 

Safa and her Dad in the Alps: “Europe is so amazing!”

In Munich Waris received a prize from a very important lady, the minister of justice. Waris asked me to join her on the stage. She talked about my story and showed the part of the film with me as little Waris. The people cried a lot but later they gave us standing ovations.

Safa, Waris and the german Minister of Justice Dr. Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberer at the Thomas-Dehler award.

Waris presented the new project of the Desert Flower Foundation. They will rescue many more Little Desert Flowers in Africa from FGM and they will send them to school. Sadly many families are very poor here and only boys attend school while the girls have to stay at home.

Waris is my role model. I want to help children in Africa too when I am old enough. I want to become a pediatrician and will work for the Desert Flower Foundation.

Safa: “Thank you for your support – but many more girls need your help!”

Thank you so much for helping the Desert Flower Foundation, I am so happy that I can go to school and that my family has enough food. There are so many more people here who have fled the civil war and the draught in Somalia. They have nothing and need your help. Please support them!

I miss you all.

LOVE from Djibouti,

Safa

 

PLEASE DONATE NOW:

Donations with credit card: http://www.desertflowerfoundation.org/en/donate-waris-dirie-foundation/

 

Öterreich:

Desert Flower Foundation

Erste Bank

Kontonummer 294 698 036 00

BLZ: 20111

IBAN: AT94 2011 1294 6980 3600

BIC: GIBAATWWXXX

 

Deutschland und Internationaler Account:

Desert Flower Foundation

Commerzbank

Account number 040 55 64000

Bank identification code: 500 803 00

IBAN DE 25 5008 0300 0405 5640 00

BIC: DRCOBADEFFXXX

 

Schweiz:

Desert Flower Foundation

Raiffeisen Bank

Account number: 799407.36

Bank identification code: 80005

IBAN: CH 63 8000 5000 0799 4073 6

SWIFT: RAIFCH22

2 Responses to “LETTER FROM SAFA”

  1. Tracy Robinson August 9, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Is there a way to help Safa directly? I don’t have a lot of money, but I know even a little bit is helpful. It would be nice to see who you are actually helping, and to hear from them sometimes. I have a daughter about her age and she (my daughter) thought that maybe she could send her things like books, and clothing we no longer need. It would be nice to know someone from Somalia, or anywhere in Africa! Is this possible?

    • warisdirie October 24, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      Dear Tracy,

      Thank you so much for your efforts and the intention to support Safa. It is a great idea to send books, clothes or something to play with. We are visiting our little Safa twice a year, so if you want to send something, we will take it to Djibouti (as it is very difficult to send something to Djibouti). By the way she has to little brothers 3 & 5 years old, so if you have anything for boys we would be very thankfull if you could send it too! We support some other children too, 3 girls 7, 11, & 19 years and one boy 17 years, so if you want to send a letter to anyone of them, we will forward it! Here the E-Mail adress of the office in Vienna: office@desertflowerfoundation.org
      Please send them a message and they will give you the address and more information.

      Love,

      The Desert Flower Team

Leave a Reply

