Inab: Now I fight as a campaigner for the Desert Flower Foundation

4 Oct

After my surgery I thought about how to support Waris Dirie and the Desert Flower Foundation and how to save as many girls as possible in Africa. I also thought about how I could contribute to promote the reconstructive surgery and how to take affected women their doubts to undergo the surgery.

All telephones in the Desert Flower Foundation office rang all day long and many requests came in via E-Mail and Facebook.

So many people wanted to know more about the new Desert Flower Center and the reconstructive surgery.

Many women affected by FGM sent requests and I could personally talk to a few of them to explain the procedure and to tell them the truth, how good I feel now. We also received many interview requests from TV-Stations, Magazines and Newspapers from all over the world. One of them was the big Arabic TV-Station – Alhurra – with an audience of 200 Million people.

As I speak Arabic fluently I did not hesitate to do the interview and to speak about my surgery and Female Genital Mutilation.

Many women affected by FGM, even in my country are watching this program and it means a lot to me to encourage these women to fight against this crime and to consider doing the surgery.

Here you can see my first interview with Alhurra TV:  http://youtu.be/YDE9G5KLGWc

LOVE,

Leave a Reply

