I am proud of our new Desert Flower Center

14 Nov

I had long discussions with my Desert Flower Team before the opening of our first Desert Flower Center. I had doubts to offer reconstructive surgery, as my Desert Flower Foundation focused since we started on prevention and raising awareness with great success. My team was convinced the Desert Flower Center concept will succeed and I trusted them.

Since we started eight weeks ago, a lot of things happened. Media from all around the world, hospitals and NGO´s who would like to open Desert Flower Centers with us, contact us every single day. And I am very moved about the strong interest of women who suffered Female Genital Mutilation. Every day I read letters from women affected by this crime, how femininity and parts of their bodies were stolen and now, for the first time in their lives they feel complete.

I would like to thank our medical team in Berlin and especially Dr. Cornelia Strunz, for their commitement and taking care of all the women coming from Somalia, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Sudan, Eritrea, Kenia, Sierra Leone, Mali and Senegal. Many of them live in Germany, but they are arriving from the UK, the Netherlands and even Poland too to be treated at the Desert Flower Center Berlin.

Even the Desert Flower Center is still young, we can see we have launched a very promising project and I am happy to be convinced by my Desert Flower team.

Soon we will open more Desert Flower Centers in Europe, Africa and the US.

If you need more information or if you want to support us please write to: office@desertflowerfoundation.org or send a small donation to http://www.desertflowerfoundation.org/en/donate-waris-dirie-foundation/  it is needed.

LOVE,

Waris Dirie

One Response to “I am proud of our new Desert Flower Center”

  1. Achim November 14, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Hi Waris,

    You can indeed be proud of what You already achieved, but still so much to do.
    Just watched “desert flower” on swissTV couple of minutes ago with my girlfriend, and it shocks me again time after time to hear these horrible things happening.
    Sometimes I am ashamed to be a man….
    Didn t know about Your austrian connections and nationality, before reading it on the internet.
    So with admiration and best wishes from the western edge of Austria:

    Achim & Ulli

Leave a Reply

