Waris Dirie: Why do we need your support!

16 Jul

Since 1997 I’m fighting against FGM. I have dedicated half of my life to this fight. All over the the world, I have spoken about the cruelest day of my life and about the physical and psychological injuries that it caused me. Why have I done that?

With my fight I want to save millions of girls threatened by this brutal crime every day, but I know, that I will not win this fight alone!

The more people joining this cause, the faster we will be able to stop this horror. What can you do to save a little girl right now?

It is very simple, you can become a sponsor of one little girl or donate to the Desert Flower Foundation. Our sponsorship program protects the girls IMMEDIATELY!

Please support us today!

Love,
Waris Dirie

 

2 Responses to “Waris Dirie: Why do we need your support!”

  1. Angelika Mut July 28, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    Dear Mrs Dirie

    You have inspired me with all your Work since I was 14 when I first read your book. What you have been through in your life is un describe able . And I admire you with all your work and effort you out to stop FGM.

    I am writing to you as I live in Rochdale Manchester UK. Around the area I live I heard about FGM and I know some girls that have been circumcised they would not seek advice however I know young girls from age 2 that are at a high risk of becoming circumcised.

    I would be really grateful if you could write back to me with information on where in Manchester UK I can go and seek more advice on how I can help those girls. I know that this is not allowed in UK and I do not want those young girls to go through so much pain you have been through.

    It is heart breaking to know that people can do these to their own children. I understand that some cultures Must make their daughters circumcised but I wish like you do that girls must not go throughout the pain.

    Please if you could write back and advice me on what I should I do next as this is a concern in my life and it’s hurt to know that young girls go through this pain.

    Your sincerely Angelika Mut

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • warisdirie August 4, 2014 at 10:18 am #

      Dear Angelika,
      Through the Desert Flower Foundation, Mrs. Dirie tries to help girls and women victims of FGM. The Desert Flower Foundation has offices in several countries, including the UK. If you know girls who are in risk of being cut and need help, please contact us via e-mail to our UK offices to Jonathan Savitt at jonathan.savitt@desertflowerfoundation.co.uk.

      Thank you very much for raising your voice and not letting this crime happen.
      Best wishes,

      The Desert Flower Foundation Team

Leave a Reply

